blogging challenge, Personal

What are you afraid of?

Lying to ourselves is more deeply ingrained than lying to others

Day 6 of 30 days blogging challenge for August

We all have our fears, some more serious than others. Unless we’re not being truthful to ourselves.

I’m not afraid of many things. None of the usual everyday fears – certain animals, height, enclosed spaces, public speaking and what have you.

It’s actually hard to determine what I’m afraid of. The following will suffice.

I’m afraid of being disappointed
I’ve learnt not to expect too much from people. They more likely than not will disappoint you.

I’m afraid of being hurt
Probably everyone is afraid of being hurt especially in intimate relationships. People change and so do their feelings. It’s always good to be prepared for that eventuality.

I’m afraid of the future
Better put, I’m afraid of not fulfilling my destiny, the reason for being, especially because I’m yet to find out what that is. I’m good at many things but all those things hasn’t presented itself into one solid thing. I still don’t know what I want to do with my life.

I’m not talking about a job or a career path. It’s bigger than that. Much bigger. I’m talking about my place in the world system. I want at the end of my earthly days to be able to acknowledge that I did something with myself. That I was here. And I made impact.
image

That is my greatest fear – not making impact.

2 thoughts on “What are you afraid of?

Leave a Reply

