blogging challenge, Daily Prompt, Personal

My Dream Job

image

Day 4 of 30 Days Blogging Challenge

Over the years, my idea of a dream job has metamorphosed from general to specific. It has constantly continued to evolve with the changing circumstances.

image

My earliest memory of what I wanted to do with my life was at 9 when I wanted to be a lawyer. Being a lawyer was my dream job and profession for the longest time spanning my childhood through mid teen years.

image

I still wanted to be a lawyer whilst I was applying into the university but the one course I sorely needed to get in to study law had a different syllabus for the entrance examination and there was no time to study for it. So I opted for another whose requirements I already had – Public Administration.

image

But then, a career is different from a dream job. Isn’t it?

image

I’m currently at the stage where I should be applying for jobs. I’m 9 months away from completing my service to my nation. I should be thinking of my future. And I am. But when it comes to landing that dream job, I have no idea what that is.

image

I do know this. Any job that would:
1. fully utilize my mental and physical resources.
2. constantly challenge me. I hate monotony. I bores the hell out of me.
3. make me proud of myself.
4. leave me time to have a family life.
5. and of course pay very well.
that’s my dream job. Whether I have to work for somebody or for myself.

image

But what exactly is that dream job. I have no idea. I don’t think it’s important.

image

I mean who really gets their dream job?

image

4 thoughts on “My Dream Job

  1. Number 4 from your list is the most important to me. I used to be the girl who chased more money and the next promotion but now I want a job to fit into my life versus define it. That wasn’t an easy lesson for me to learn, but I’m glad that I did!

  2. Indeed, “who really gets their dream job?”

    I find we want different things at various points in our lives, and keep tweaking our master plan as we go along in the pursuit for fulfillment. One’s dream job at 20 may not be their dream job at 30 and so on and so forth.

    Like Johnny Walker, we must “Keep walking” 😀

    Well written post Maureen.

Leave a Reply

