Current Issues, Personal

Break a leg day

I broke my ankle this evening getting out of a cab in front of my building. Can you believe that? Getting out of a cab of all things. An everyday activity we seemingly take for granted.

image
©www.makingitanywhere.com

But then I had to brave it and get inside. I had to lay me down cos I was suddenly very dizzy and having cold sweats. Is that normal anyone?

image
http://www.lajoyfamily.blogspot.com

After a couple hours my ankle was as ripe and swollen as a watermelon. I knew I had to get it looked after. I’ve always thought I was lucky to be living nearly across the street from a federal medical centre but alas not! You know why? The freaking doctors just had to be on strike. Talk about UNLUCKY!

image
©www.dreamerfly.deviantart.com

A friend drove me a little ways off to a private hospital that claims to operate 24hours. But we had to wait for the doctor to arrive from wherever he went to. A couple hours later, the nurse had to inform us that the doctor couldn’t make it and we should check back in the morning. Arrrrrrggggghhhhhhh!!!!

image
©www.theguardian.com

I guess in the grand scheme of things a broke ankle, hopefully just sprained, isn’t high up there in the list of emergencies. Maybe he would have MADE it if I was about to drop triplets prematurely. Maybe not even then. Who knows? These doctors.

image
©www.tranquilgarden.ca

So we had to head to a medicine store to buy pain killers and some mentholated ointment (turned to be ointment for skin infection) from a third rate quack but what’s a girl got to do when she’s in pain.

image
©www.delucainsight.com

By the time we got home, my feet couldn’t touch the ground. It was just too painful to even think about trying. Guess what happened? As soon the gateman opened the gates I asked him, “Can you carry me?” Not particularly serious about it either. He responded, “How much?” I said “Help a girl out! I broke my ankle.” He was shocked but he just turned his back and piggybacked me and let me off at my door.

image
©www.theurbandaily.com

And then he went on to go tell all the other 8 tenants about my predicament. And they all trooped into my room to offer their condolences. Talk about cuteness. Awwwww.

image
©www.ilxor.com

It was sweet.

image
©animal-backgrounds.com

But I’m still in pain! 

Even after eating some bread with a bottle of milk drink and taking my pills. I hope I can sleep tonight.

PS: I’ve been exceptionally cold since this happened over three hours ago. Can anyone tell me if that’s normal? I’d appreciate it.

15 thoughts on “Break a leg day

  1. You need to get medical attention. You may be experiencing shock with dizziness and feeling cold. This is nothing to waste time on. Sounds like you have terrible medical care. Where do you live?

  2. Awwww, sorry dear, I sprained my ankle once and I know how badly it hurt. The cold feeling was probably a fever.

    The images in this post made me chuckle.

Leave a Reply

