Current Issues

It’s a new day, Nigeria!!!

I’m home today. Not because I don’t have anywhere to be because I don’t. As a newly passed-out corps member, I’m on my two-weeks post camp leave before resumption of duty at my Place of Primary Assignment (PPA). But beyond that, today is a national holiday – Nigeria’s Democracy Day. It’s the official day of transition from one regime to another in the democratic dispensation.

image

So here I am stuck in front of the tv watching the 2015 PRESIDENTIAL INAUGURATION CEREMONY. I don’t think I’ve watched one before. I guess I’m lucky today cos not only am I not feeling well so everyone is leaving me alone, the power company has generously decided to bring the light back on since it went off on Sunday (those people know what they’re doing).

image

Anyway, this is a very important and sentimental day and everyone is one way or the other tensed and waiting for the other shoe to drop. Prolly why I had to be home before today. Just playing safe.

Anyway, the National Television Authority either has poor sound feedback or their transmission quality is poor because either I can’t hear a thing being said or too many voices are heard at once. I’m saddened I couldn’t hear the parade band well. Someone better have a soft copy of the inauguration speech.

Basically I’m watching. And the only thing worth watching is the military movements. These three weeks in camp has given me a better insight and understanding of the workings of the military. Above everything else, I love their precision of movement. Makes our camp parade seem like child’s play.

I especially loved two things in the entire event. The first was the dramatic unhoisting and hoisting of the flags.

It reminded me of our abysmal attempt at hoisting the National and the Corps’ flags on the parade ground in camp in preparation of our swearing-in ceremony. A prospective corps member volunteered to climb up the flag pole onto the roof of the pavilion with the ropes tied on his waist. He succeeded in hooking both ropes with difficulty but couldn’t monkey his way down the pole. They had to find him a wooden ladder to make his way down.

The other was the 21-gun salute. Despite the poor sound quality, the significance of the 21-gun salute was not lost. It’s entirely military. It just gives you a fresh appreciation of the role of the military even in a democratic dispensation and the power of the president who is the Commander in Chief of the armed forces. Those aren’t fancy titles. There’s a reason the president is the Chief Security Officer of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

So you have it people! THE PRESIDENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA.

image
The Nigerian President
One thought on “It’s a new day, Nigeria!!!

Leave a Reply

