Personal

The War At Home

image

Source

Yesterday, Monday, the Super Eagles got knocked out of the World Cup. By France no less. Big deal? Hell, yeah!

Watching my parents trying to eat dinner together (as in from the same plates) was a sorry affair. That is to say that watching my dad berate my mum for any slight thing was initially not funny. Until my mum joined in.

I was sitting on the couch working on my bead bag while my parents ate. And dad watched TV while he ate. His posture could not let my mum see the television properly. When mum asked him to shift his head to the right, an argument (if I can call it that) ensued.

“What do you think is on Tv?”, dad shouted over the sound of the television.

“The match of course” mum replied. “Is Nigeria not playing?”

“What is it to you? You don’t even know anything about football!” dad yelled.

“Who said I don’t know anything?” She said in a low voice, signalling she wasn’t responding anymore.

We all watched the match without any sound. After a few minutes, mum turned to me and said in a sort of whisper, “which one is the Nigerian team?” I guess she wasn’t as quiet as she thought.

Immediately dad started laughing. “Eh, heh! I said it. You don’t know anything about football. You don’t even know the Nigerian team!” While he was still talking, dear Yobo decided to score an ‘own goal’ which left dad more than dumbfounded. I think he would have screamed if he could. What he did was wash his hands, get up and leave the sitting room.

My mum gave me a look that asked “what’s his problem?” I just shrugged like I had no idea. She just resumed her eating, carrying on like nothing happened.

I was just sitting there, having not said a word the whole time but silently smiling at their exchange. It just reminded me of the tv series ‘The War at Home’. I only watched a few episodes on a friend’s laptop back in school but the exchange was humorous and reminded me of it. This kind of exchange is fairly common in my home. I’ve never really stopped to analyse it. It’s just one of those things that make up our daily life.

PS: I think dad may have bet on the Nigerian team kicking out the French. 😉

Posted from WordPress for Android

4 thoughts on “The War At Home

  1. This is classic!
    I used to get into my parents ‘affairs’ and really hard to take sides. One day I realised they relish in arguing on trivial issues so I thought to myself these guys have been together since 1961 – obviously they love each other so I excused myself from their ‘wahala’ from then on 🙂

Leave a Reply

