Uncategorized

The Way of Tradition

I was up at 4:10am today. Reason? Well, I had to attend the 5am mass. I rarely get up at the stroke of dawn but this was important.

My sister and I have being ordered (sort of) to return to the village for a ceremony. We call it “ogo bia malu be” which translates to “in-laws come and know our house.”
Yesterday was my uncle’s (my dad’s stepbrother) traditional marriage ceremony. So today, his wife’s people are coming to pay us a visit. Sort of to officially know where their daughter is being married. It isn’t much of a big deal. Just conversation and food and drinks. The in-laws get to know one another so they can easily identify one another.

My mum’s the caterer. We are her waitresses (unofficially). The food is ready. Drinks are chilled. The seats are set. My clansmen are already waiting.  All that remains is the arrival of the in-laws.

image

Hope they won’t be late.

6 thoughts on “The Way of Tradition

  1. Interesting to me. My daughter met a Nigerian woman in school and was in her wedding party last March. Because her fiancee was also Nigerian, and even from her tribe, they had a ceremony in Nigeria and the later one here in U.S. Kind of amazing how closely knit her community of friends and relatives were that over 300 of them from near and far came to the wedding here.

    1. It’s probably the extended family system. Lots of family members who have lots of friends which in turn increases your circle of friends. But you have to work on the personal touch.

Leave a Reply

